Our areas of expertise

Automotive

Coming from the world of motor sports and based in the technology centre of the Magny Cours circuit, the Aero Concept Engineering team is deeply immersed in the automotive world. From motor sports to series production, along with the world of non-standard vehicles, ACE has contributed its expertise to numerous automotive projects.

Aeronautics

Our engineers have been involved in aeronautic projects for very many years. They have studied certified aircraft, ultralight aircrafts (ULMs), drones and even airships using CFD techniques or in the wind tunnel.

HGVs

Since HGVs, construction machinery and agricultural machinery are subject to aerodynamic and thermal problems very similar to those affecting passenger cars, our teams are regularly called upon to work in these fields.

Rail

Pantographs, landing doors, carriage doors, train tunnel entries, crossings, air conditioning… These are just a few examples of the railway-related topics that we have been asked to address.

Construction

Are you responsible for the construction of a new district or a new building? Do you want to make sure that the aeraulic and thermal issues are dealt with prior to the construction work? Then please contact us!

Defence

Whether earthbound or airborne, armoured or not, take advantage of our experience to optimise the thermal and aerodynamic aspects of your military vehicles.

Sports and Records

Make your entry into the world of ultimate performance thanks to our sports-dedicated entity aeroptimum.fr. Our aerodynamic engineers will help you get the very best out of your machine and open the way to records, medals and victories!

Research

Research has been one of our sectors of activity for many years. With our wind-tunnel tests, the design of mock-ups and our expertise in CFD, we have cooperated in the preparation of many theses and dissertations.

Industry

Do your industrial processes or products involve thermal considerations, aeraulics or fluid mechanics? Would you benefit from support in their development and optimisation ? Then please contact us !

years
of experience

areas
of expertise

thousands of hours
of wind tunnel testings

thousands
of CFD calculations

Our services

Our resources

The team at ACE

Alexis graduated from the ESTACA Engineering School in 1998 and, as of 1996, he specialised in fluid simulations involving projects conducted on behalf of the Ligier F1 racing team, which was subsequently to become Prost Grand Prix. After working as an intern at Fluent after finishing his studies, Alexis was recruited by Prost Grand Prix to set up and run the F1 team’s CFD unit. In 2002, he became one of the founders of Aero Concept Engineering and took on the role of CFD Manager. In 2019, he took over the management of the company.

His passions

Cars, aeronautics and technology

His role at ACE

CEO of the company and responsible for the CFD unit, he still often conducts CFD studies

After graduating from the ISAT Engineering School in 2011, Rémy started work for ACE in the very same year following the end of his student internship. For a number of years, he designed wind-tunnel mock-ups and measuring equipment and managed wind-tunnel testing. He left ACE in 2017 to work on a thesis on the optimisation of the geometries of vessels dedicated to river transport. He returned to ACE in 2020, following the company’s reorientation, in order to take over the management of wind tunnel-related activities (tests and design).

His passions

Sport

His role at ACE

As the person responsible for the wind tunnel and design activities, he is your contact person for all aspects of physical testing. He will advise you about all aspects, starting from the feasibility study, through design of the mock-up and/or measuring and test equipment and on to testing itself.

After graduating from the North East Wales Institute (Master of science in aeronautical engineering) in 2007, Mathieu started his career in ACE’s CFD unit the very same year. During the years that followed, he conducted many studies in all sectors of activity covered by ACE. Since 2019, he has concentrated full-time on software development.

His passions

Parachuting, programming.

His role at ACE

As the person responsible for software development, Mathieu is in charge of front-end and back-end development of the software solution ACE of Aircraft.

After graduating from the Polytech Orléans in 2009, he went on to write a Cifre thesis (Renault/Prisme) on the subject of “Experimental and digital study of diphasic flows in the water tanks of automotive vehicles”. He was awarded his doctorate in 2013 and joined a catapult company, where he worked on a wind power project. A year later, he joined ACE’s CFD unit and also trained users in working with OpenFOAM. After being the first trainee to acquire his OpenFOAM skills from ACE, he has been ACE’s own trainer in this subject since 2016!

His passions

Diving, ultra-trail.

His role at ACE

In addition to being responsible for training, Yann also monitors software developments and performs CFD studies. He is your contact person for all your OpenFOAM training needs.

After graduating from the ISAT Engineering School in 2021 Amandine was recruited by ACE following the end of her final-year student internship. After performing a 4th-year internship in the wind-tunnel unit and a semester at Polimi, where she trained in the use of OpenFOAM, she worked in the CFD unit during her final-year internship. She took up an interdisciplinary position in ACE, taking on responsibility for the Casimear project.

Her passions

Nature photography

Her role at ACE

Amandine joined ACE in connection with the launch of an automotive aerodynamics research project. This project, which brings together CAD design, CFD studies and wind-tunnel tests, has only just been launched. However, we promise we’ll tell you more very shortly!

Assigned to AerOptimum, our sports-focused entity, Benoît is responsible for dynamic bike-fitting. Are you a cyclist or triathlete? Entrust him with the adjustment of your bike and enjoy the comfort and performance gains. To find out more: aeroptimum.fr

After joining ACE in 2021, Meriem is studying part-time for a Master’s degree in marketing and digital communications. Initially assigned to the AerOptimum entity, she handles ACE’s and AerOptimum’s social media presence.

History of the company

2002

  • Creation of ACE

    The Prost Grand Prix Formula 1 racing team closed down for good in 2002. This was the start of a new era for the Magny Cours wind tunnel, which became the property of the newly formed company: Aero Concept Engineering.

  • Diversification

    Initially highly involved with the motor sports sector (F1, Proto Le Mans, WTCC, WRC, F3, one-design racing, etc.), ACE very quickly diversified its operations to offer wind-tunnel test and flow simulation services to all types of sectors of activity.

2008 - 2011

  • OpenFOAM

    Since 2008, ACE has used the OpenFOAM open-source software solution to perform its CFD studies.

  • 1st training course

    In 2011, ACE gave its first training course in the use of OpenFOAM. As if to bear witness to the quality of this training, just a few years later the very first student, Yann Recoquillon, returned to the ACE team to take charge of OpenFOAM training!

2019

  • Change of management

    In 2019, Alexis Lapouille (one of our founders) took over the management of ACE and introduced a new strategy, which was rolled out during the succeeding years.

2020 - 2022

  • Works

    In 2020, an extensive battery of works was undertaken in the wind tunnel to renovate the test section, modernise the wind tunnel’s control and data capture capabilities and redesign the fixed-surface measurement platform in order to boost its performance.

  • Aeroptimum

    In 2021, the work on the wind tunnel was completed and ACE created AerOptimum, its dedicated sports-oriented brand which has made access to the wind tunnel possible for all athletes. Yann Recoquillon was awarded ICPF certification as an Approved Consultant Trainer and ACE started to work towards Qualiopi certification for its training activity.

  • ACE of Aircraft

    2022 is the year of the launch of the first software solution developed by ACE: ACE of Aircraft. Its aim is to allow small to mid-sized companies in the general aviation sector to benefit from the power of aerodynamic simulations at an affordable price.

Contact us

header

+33 (0) 3 86 58 01 65

header

Technopôle du Circuit, Magny-Cours - FRANCE

header

contact@aero-ce.com

Nos domaines d'expertise

Automobile

Issue de la compétition automobile et située sur la technopole du circuit de Magny Cours, l’équipe d’Aero Concept Engineering possède une grande culture de l’automobile. Du sport automobile à l’automobile de série, en passant par les véhicules d’exception, ACE a apporté son savoir-faire à de nombreux projets automobiles.

Aéronautique

Depuis de nombreuses années nos ingénieurs œuvrent sur des projets aéronautiques. Avions certifiés, ULM, drones ou encore dirigeables sont étudiés en CFD ou en soufflerie.

Poids lourds

Les poids lourds ou engins de chantier ou agricoles étant soumis à des problématiques d’aérodynamique et de thermique assez proches de celles de l’automobile, nos équipes sont régulièrement sollicitées pour travailler dans ces domaines.

Ferroviaire

Pantographe, porte palière, porte de voiture, entrée de train en tunnel, croisement, climatisation sont quelques exemples des thématiques ferroviaires que nous avons été appelés à traiter.

Bâtiment

Vous êtes en charge de la construction d’un nouveau quartier ou d’un nouveau bâtiment ? Vous souhaitez vous assurer que les problématiques aérauliques et thermiques seront traitées avant la construction ?

Défense

Qu’ils soient terrestres ou volants, blindés ou non, profitez de notre expertise pour optimiser vos véhicules militaires sur les aspects thermique et aérodynamique.

Sport & Records

Entrez dans le monde de la performance ultime via notre entité dédiée au sport aeroptimum.fr. Nos aérodynamiciens vous permettront de tirer le meilleur de votre machine avec à la clef des records, des médailles et des victoires !

Recherche

Le secteur de la recherche fait partie de nos activités depuis de nombreuses années. Nous avons, par les essais en soufflerie, la conception de maquettes ou la CFD, collaboré à de multiples sujets de thèses.

Industrie

Votre process ou votre produit industriel mettent en jeu de la thermique, de l’aéraulique ou de la mécanique des fluides ? Vous souhaitez être accompagné dans leur développement et leur optimisation ?

ans
d'expérience

secteurs
d'activités

mille heures
de soufflerie

mille
calculs CFD

Nos métiers

Les moyens à disposition

L'équipe d'ACE

Ingénieur ESTACA diplômé en 1998 Alexis s’est, dès 1996, spécialisé dans la simulation fluide via des projets d’études réalisés pour le compte de l’écurie de F1 Ligier qui deviendra l’écurie Prost Grand Prix. Après un stage de fin d’études au sein de la société Fluent, Alexis est recruté par Prost Grand Prix pour mettre en place et diriger le service de CFD de l’écurie de F1. En 2002 il est l’un des créateurs d’Aero Concept Engineering et prend le poste de responsable CFD. En 2019, il prend la direction de l’entreprise.

Ses passions

L’automobile, l’aéronautique et la technologie

Son rôle chez ACE

Président de l’entreprise et responsable du service CFD, il lui arrive encore régulièrement de réaliser des études CFD

Diplômé de l’ISAT en 2011, Rémy est embauché chez ACE la même année à la suite de son stage de fin d’étude. Durant plusieurs années, il conçoit des maquettes de soufflerie, des moyens de mesure et gère des essais en soufflerie. Il quitte ACE en 2017 pour se lancer dans une thèse portant sur l’optimisation des géométries de bateaux dédiés au transport fluvial. Il revient chez ACE en 2020, suite au changement de direction de l’entreprise, pour prendre en charge les activités liées à la soufflerie (essais et conception).

Ses passions

Le sport

Son rôle chez ACE

Responsable de la soufflerie et de la conception, il est votre interlocuteur pour tout ce qui concerne les essais physiques. Depuis l’étude de la faisabilité jusqu’au essais en passant par la conception de la maquette et/ou des moyens de mesure et d’essais, il saura vous conseiller.

Diplômé du North East Wales Institute (Master of science in aeronautical engineering) en 2007, Mathieu débute sa carrière chez ACE la même année dans le service CFD. Il réalise durant toutes ces années de nombreuses études dans tous les secteurs d’activités couverts par ACE. Depuis 2019, il se concentre à plein temps sur le développement logiciel.

Ses passions

Le parachutisme, la programmation

Son rôle chez ACE

Responsable du développement logiciel, Mathieu est en charge du développement front end et back end du logiciel ACE of Aircraft.

Diplômé de Polytech Orléans en 2009, il enchaîne avec une thèse Cifre (Renault/Prisme) ayant pour sujet « Etude expérimentale et numérique des écoulements diphasiques dans la boîte à eau d’un véhicule automobile ». Il obtient son grade de docteur en 2013 et intègre une SATT pour travailler sur un projet d’hydrolienne. Un an plus tard, il rejoint le service CFD d’ACE et prend en charge, en parallèle, l’activité de formation à l’utilisation d’OpenFOAM. Après avoir été le premier stagiaire formé à OpenFOAM par ACE, il est depuis 2016 le formateur d’ACE !

Ses passions

La plongée, l’ultra trail

Son rôle chez ACE

Responsable de la formation, Yann est également chargé de la veille logiciel et réalise des études CFD. Il est votre interlocuteur pour vos besoins en formation OpenFOAM.

Diplômé de l’ISAT en 2019 Antoine s’est spécialisé dans la CFD et en particulier dans l’utilisation d’OpenFOAM durant ses stages de 4ème et de 5ème année. Il rejoint ACE en 2019 pour débuter sa carrière au sein du service CFD.

Ses passions

L’aéronautique, la défense

Son rôle chez ACE

Antoine réalise des études CFD dans différents secteurs d’activité. Il pourra être votre interlocuteur si vous nous confiez vos études CFD.

Diplômée de l’ISAT en 2021 Amandine a été recrutée chez ACE suite à son stage de fin d’étude. Après un stage de 4ème année au service soufflerie et un semestre à Polimi au cours duquel elle se forme à l’utilisation d’OpenFOAM, elle réalise son stage de fin d’étude dans le service CFD. Elle rejoint ACE à un poste transversal pour prendre en charge le projet Casimear.

Ses passions

Photographie naturaliste

Son rôle chez ACE

Amandine a rejoint ACE dans le cadre du lancement d’un projet en lien avec la recherche aérodynamique automobile. Ce projet qui regroupe de la conception CAO, des études CFD et des essais en soufflerie vient d’être lancé mais promis, on vous en dira plus très bientôt !

Rattaché à AerOptimum, notre entité dédiée au sport, Benoît est en charge des études posturales dynamiques. Vous êtes cycliste ou triathlète ? Confiez-lui le réglage de votre vélo et gagnez en confort et en performance. Pour en savoir plus : aeroptimum.fr

Arrivée chez ACE en 2021, Meriem réalise un Master en alternance en marketing et communication digitale. Principalement rattachée à l’entité AerOptimum, elle gère la présence d’ACE et d’AerOptimum sur les réseaux sociaux.

L'historique de la société

2002

  • Création d'ACE

    En 2002, l’écurie de Formule 1 Prost Grand Prix ferme définitivement ses portes. C’est le point de départ d’une nouvelle ère pour la soufflerie de Magny Cours qui devient propriété de la société nouvellement créée : Aero Concept Engineering.

  • Diversification

    D’abord très impliquée dans le secteur du sport automobile (F1, Proto Le Mans, WTCC, WRC, F3, Formules monotypes…), ACE a très rapidement diversifié ses activités pour offrir ses services d’essais en soufflerie et de simulation d’écoulement à tout type de secteur d’activité.

2008 - 2011

  • OpenFOAM

    Dès 2008, ACE adopte la solution logicielle open source OpenFOAM pour la réalisation des études CFD.

  • Première formation

    En 2011, ACE encadre sa première formation à l’utilisation d’OpenFOAM. Preuve de la qualité de ses formations, quelques années plus tard ce premier stagiaire : Yann Recoquillon, rejoint l’équipe d’ACE pour prendre en charge les formations OpenFOAM !

2019

  • Changement de direction

    En 2019, Alexis Lapouille (l’un des créateurs de l’entreprise) prend la direction d’ACE et une nouvelle stratégie est écrite pour être déployée dans les années suivantes.

2020 - 2022

  • Travaux

    En 2020, une grande campagne de travaux est lancée dans la soufflerie, elle permettra de rénover la veine d’essais, de moderniser le pilotage de la soufflerie et l’acquisition de données et de reconcevoir une plateforme de mesure sol fixe plus performante.

  • Aeroptimum

    En 2021, les travaux de la soufflerie sont terminés et ACE crée AerOptimum, sa marque dédiée au sport et permettant de démocratiser l’accès à la soufflerie pour les sportifs. Yann Recoquillon obtient une certification ICPF en tant que Consultant Formateur Agréé et ACE se lance dans le dossier de la certification Qualiopi pour son activité de formation.

  • ACE of Aircraft

    2022 est l’année du lancement du premier logiciel développé par ACE : ACE of Aircraft. Son ambition est de permettre aux TPE et PME de l’aviation générale d’entrer dans le monde de la simulation aérodynamique sans payer le prix fort.

Contactez-nous

header

+33 (0) 3 86 58 01 65

header

Technopôle du Circuit, Magny-Cours

header

contact@aero-ce.com