Our solutions : ACE of Aircraft


Are you a small to mid-sized company in the general aviation sector?

Do you want to integrate CFD in your design office so that you can optimise the aerodynamic characteristics of your aircraft but want to avoid having to deploy excessive human and financial resources?

Our ACE of Aircraft software has been designed to meet your needs!

It has been developed specifically to respond to the constraints of businesses in the general aviation field and is guided by four key principles:

  • Reasonable licence cost.
  • Optimised computation runtime.
  • No knowledge of fluid simulations required.
  • Performance worthy of the best CFD software.

The result of two and a half years of development work and underpinned by a proven, practice-oriented methodology, ACE of Aircraft was designed and developed in collaboration with aircraft manufacturers who guided us throughout the entire development period by informing us of their expectations and needs.

ACE of Aircraft is available in various versions to adapt to your budget.

Contact us to find out more or to arrange a demonstration.

Enthusiasts, you can use this tool free of charge!

ACE of Aircraft is available with various licensing levels. The basic functionalities are available in the free version of the software. These functionalities will enable enthusiastic amateurs to perform aerodynamic simulations free of charge in their Windows environment.

Professionals, adopt a new approach!

Design offices of small to mid-sized companies are tempted to adopt a similarity-based approach to their aircraft development work: copying what has already proven its value in order to limit the risks of expensive pitfalls. With ACE of Aircraft, we propose a tool that will allow them to innovate and adopt an iterative approach that is closer to the one deployed by the major manufacturers. The key to making this possible is the ability to access robust simulation tools. Ordinarily, this would mean not only investing in expensive software but also recruiting numerical simulation specialists. With ACE of Aircraft, you can now integrate aerodynamic simulations into your design process at a reasonable cost and without having to recruit any specialists.

We have created a GUI that uses the language of aeronautic engineering and automatically runs CFD processes predefined by a computational engineer. ACE of Aircraft builds on highly regarded third-party software (AVL and OpenFOAM) for the performance of aerodynamic computations. However, there is no need for you to know how this software works in order to obtain results that you can use in your own developments.

 

The software is designed to allow you to construct libraries of geometries and models that you can select as your projects advance in order to understand the impact of every change you make and perform precise comparisons between solutions.

 

The software is also useful for companies and organisations in possession of a DOA because it permits rapid simulations of the impact of changes to the aerodynamic characteristics of equipment as of the time the CAD model becomes available.

An aid to learning:

ACE of Aircraft is the perfect tool for the practical demonstration of aerodynamic phenomena and for explaining how to model them within the framework of aeronautic projects. The software has been designed to allow teachers possessing a single fee-paying license to collect the work of multiple students and collectively run the Navier-Stokes simulations which they have prepared on their free versions.

Multiple levels of detail

ACE of Aircraft allows users to work at different levels of detail which corresponds to the main steps involved in the aerodynamic development of an aircraft :

  • The “Draft” projects are based on an induced drag equation and Oswald coefficient in order to check that the preliminary dimensioning of the wings is correct with regard to the specifications.
  • The “VLM” projects are based on modelling of the complete aircraft on the basis of rudimentary 3D designs. They make it possible to obtain rapid results and perform preliminary aerodynamic optimisation of the aircraft’s 3D architecture.
  • The “NS-2D” projects are Navier-Stokes models that permit the precise simulation of flows around multi-profile surfaces. This makes them an ideal tool for optimising flaps and control surfaces.
  • The “NS-3D” projects are Navier-Stokes models of the complete aircraft which not only validate the details of the aerodynamic architecture but also enable you to study the impact of the propellers and optimise the air intake and engine cooling scoops.

A proven CFD methodology

The methodology implemented in ACE of Aircraft has been validated not only in correlation analyses taken from studies published by NASA but also by the experience acquired by ACE over 20 years in studies conducted on behalf of its clients.

Functionalities

  • 3 different modelling methods (induced drag with Oswald coef., Vortex lattice methods handled by AVL software and Navier-stokes models handled by OpenFOAM)
  • Estimating all usual performance criteria (CLmax, L/D ratio, CDmin, max speed, stall speed, etc…)
  • Modelling available-power: for fixed-pitch and constant-speed propellers
  • Longitudinal/directional stability analysis and dynamic stability analysis
  • Able to model commands along 5 predefined axes: pitch, yaw, roll, flaps and airbrake
  • In Navier-Stokes simulations, modelling of the pressure and velocity gradients caused by heat exchangers or propellers
  • Modelling tool for engine cooling
  • 2D/3D visualisation tool with case-to-case comparison
  • Chart drawing tool for all results produced by the software. Curve drawing for power, force repartition, aerodynamic moments, etc.
  • Mission simulation tool and Pugh matrix tool
  • Job manager and cluster manager for Navier-stokes computations

Required configuration

For the Access and Bronze licenses, a modern office computer running under Windows 10, Windows 11 or Ubuntu 20.04 are sufficient. You will need 4 GB of free disk space to install the software.

For the Gold and Platinum licenses (including Navier-Stokes modelling), we recommend:

  • 8 to 24 processing cores per computer, clocked at more than 2.2 GHz. Given that your CPU will determine the processing speed for your computations.
  • 32 to 128 GB of RAM per computer. Given that the available RAM directly influences the ability to model geometrical details of small scale.
  • At least 1 TB of disk space to store the data generated during use. 8 GB of free disk space to install the software and its accessories.
  • GTX 1650 or higher.

Contact


A request about ACE of Aircraft ? Please contact us through the following form.

    Our areas of expertise

    Automotive

    Coming from the world of motor sports and based in the technology centre of the Magny Cours circuit, the Aero Concept Engineering team is deeply immersed in the automotive world. From motor sports to series production, along with the world of non-standard vehicles, ACE has contributed its expertise to numerous automotive projects.

    Aeronautics

    Our engineers have been involved in aeronautic projects for many years. They have studied certified aircraft, ultralight aircraft (ULMs), drones and even airships using CFD techniques or in the wind tunnel.

    HGVs

    Since HGVs, construction machinery and agricultural machinery are subject to aerodynamic and thermal problems very similar to those affecting passenger cars, our teams are regularly called upon to work in these fields.

    Rail

    Pantographs, landing doors, carriage doors, train tunnel entries, crossings, air conditioning… These are just a few examples of the railway-related topics that we have been asked to address.

    Construction

    Are you responsible for the construction of a new district or a new building? Do you want to make sure that the aeraulic and thermal issues are dealt with prior to the construction work? Then please contact us!

    Defence

    Whether earthbound or airborne, armoured or not, take advantage of our experience to optimise the thermal and aerodynamic aspects of your military vehicles.

    Sports and Records

    Make your entry into the world of ultimate performance thanks to our sports-dedicated entity aeroptimum.fr. Our aerodynamic engineers will help you get the very best out of your machine and open the way to records, medals and victories!

    Research

    Research has been one of our sectors of activity for many years. With our wind-tunnel tests, the design of mock-ups and our expertise in CFD, we have cooperated in the preparation of many theses and dissertations.

    Industry

    Do your industrial processes or products involve thermal considerations, aeraulics or fluid mechanics? Would you benefit from support in their development and optimisation ? Then please contact us !

Nos solutions : ACE of Aircraft


Vous êtes une TPE ou PME du secteur de l’aviation générale ?

Vous souhaitez intégrer la CFD au sein de votre bureau d’étude pour optimiser l’aérodynamique de vos aéronefs mais vous ne souhaitez pas mobiliser des moyens humains et financiers trop importants ?

Notre logiciel ACE of Aircraft est conçu pour répondre à vos besoins !

Il a été pensé pour répondre spécifiquement aux contraintes des entreprises de l’aviation générale avec quatre idées maîtresses :

  • Un coût de licence raisonnable.
  • Un temps de lancement de calcul optimisé.
  • Aucune connaissance de la simulation fluide requise.
  • Une performance digne des meilleurs logiciels CFD.

Résultat de 2 ans et demi de développement issu d’une méthodologie éprouvée et confrontée à la réalité du terrain, ACE of Aircraft a été conçu et développé en collaboration avec des constructeurs d’aéronefs qui nous ont guidés tout au long du développement en nous faisant part de leurs attentes et de leurs besoins.

Disponible en plusieurs versions, ACE of Aircraft s’adapte à votre budget.

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus ou pour une démonstration.

Passionnés, vous pouvez utiliser gratuitement cet outil !

ACE of Aircraft est disponible en plusieurs niveaux de License. Les fonctionnalités de bases sont disponibles dans la version gratuite du logiciel. Ces fonctionnalités permettront aux amateurs passionnés de réaliser des simulations aérodynamiques sans coûts et sous Windows.

Professionnels, adoptez une nouvelle démarche :

Les bureaux d’études des TPE et PME sont tentés d’adopter une démarche par similitude pour le développement de leurs avions : copier ce qui a déjà fait ses preuves, pour limiter les risques d’aboutir à des échecs coûteux. Avec ACE of Aircraft, nous proposons un outil qui leur permettra d’innover et d’adopter une démarche itérative plus proche de ce que font les grands constructeurs. Pour cela la clé est l’accès à des outils de simulations robustes. D’ordinaire non seulement cela veut dire investir dans des logiciels onéreux, mais également recruter des spécialistes de la simulation numérique. Avec ACE of Aircraft vous pouvez désormais intégrer la simulation aérodynamique dans votre process de conception pour un coût raisonnable et sans recruter de spécialiste.

Nous avons créé une interface graphique utilisant le langage de l’ingénieur aéronautique, qui lance de manière autonome des processus CFD prédéfinis par un numéricien. ACE of Aircraft s’appuie sur des logiciels tiers réputés pour effectuer les calculs aérodynamiques (AVL et OpenFOAM), mais vous n’aurez pas besoin de connaître le fonctionnement de ces logiciels pour en tirer des résultats exploitables.

 

Le logiciel est conçu pour vous permettre de constituer des bibliothèques de géométries et de modèles, que vous pouvez sélectionner au fil du projet afin de comprendre l’impact de chaque changement opéré et comparer précisément une solution à une autre.

 

Le logiciel est également utile aux titulaires de DOA car il permet de rapidement simuler l’impact d’une modification aérodynamique sur un appareil à partir du moment où la CAO est disponible.

Un outil pédagogique :

ACE of aircraft est l’outil parfait pour démontrer par la pratique les phénomènes aérodynamiques et expliquer leur modélisation dans le cadre de projets aéronautiques. Le logiciel a été pensé pour qu’à partir d’une seule License payante un professeur puisse collecter le travail de plusieurs élèves et faire tourner l’ensemble des simulations Navier-Stokes qu’ils auront préparés à partir de leur versions gratuites.

Plusieurs niveaux de détail

ACE of Aircraft propose de travailler à différents niveaux de détail, qui correspondent aux grandes étapes de développement aérodynamique d’un aéronef :

  • Les projets « Draft » se basent sur une équation de trainée induite et coefficient d’Oswald, afin de vérifier que le dimensionnement préliminaire des ailes est correct vis-à-vis du cahier des charges
  • Les projets « VLM » sont basés sur une modélisation de l’avion complet à partir de 3D rudimentaires. Ils permettent d’obtenir des résultats rapides et de faire  une première optimisation aérodynamique de l’architecture 3D de l’avion.
  • Les projets « NS-2D » sont des modélisations Navier-Stokes capable de simuler précisément les écoulements autour de surfaces multi-profils. Ce qui en fait un outil idéal pour l’optimisation des flaps et des surfaces de contrôles.
  • Les projets « NS-3D » sont des modélisation Navier-Stokes pour l’aéronef complet, qui, en plus de valider le détail de l’architecture aérodynamique, vous permettra également d’étudier l’impact de l’écoulement induit par les hélices et d’optimiser les écopes d’alimentation et de refroidissement moteurs.

Une méthodologie CFD éprouvée

La méthodologie implémentée dans ACE of Aircraft a été validée à la fois par des cas de corrélation tirés d’études publiée par la NASA, et par l’expérience acquise par ACE pendant 20 ans lors des études réalisées pour ses clients.

Fonctionnalités

  • 3 types de modélisation différents (trainée induite par coefficient d’Oswald, simulations VLM gérées par AVL et simulations Navier-Stokes gérées par OpenFoam)
  • Estimation de tous les critères de performances classiques (CLmax, finesse, CDmin, vitesse max., vitesse de décrochage, vitesse de montée, etc…)
  • Modélisation de la puissance disponible : moteurs avec hélice à pas fixe ou hélice à régime constant
  • Analyses de la stabilité Longitudinale/directionelle et analyses de stabilité dynamique.
  • Possibilité de modéliser l’action des commandes selon 5 axes prédéfinis : tangage, lacet, roulis, volets et aérofrein.
  • Dans les analyses Navier-Stokes, modélisation des gradients de pression et de vitesse causés par la présence d’hélices et d’échangeurs, écoulement hélicoïdaux des hélices.
  • Outil de modélisation de la capacité de refroidissement moteur
  • Outil de visualisation 2D/ 3D et de comparaison de cas à cas
  • Outil de tracé de courbes comparatives pour tous les résultats produit par le logiciel. Tracé de polaires, de courbes de puissances, de répartition des efforts, des moments aérodynamiques, etc.
  • Outil de simulation de mission et de création de matrices décisionnelles
  • Outil de gestion de file d’attente et de gestion de cluster pour les calculs Navier-Stokes

Configuration requise

Pour les licences Access et Bronze, un ordinateur de bureautique moderne suffit, sous Windows 10, Windows 11 ou Ubuntu 20.04. Vous aurez besoin de 4 Go d’espace disque libre pour installer le logiciel.

Pour les licences Gold et Platinium (et donc les modélisations Navier-Stokes), il est conseillé d’avoir :

  • 8 à 24 cœurs de calcul par machine, cadencé à plus de 2.2 GHz. . Sachant que votre CPU déterminera la vitesse de traitement des calculs.
  • 32 à 128 Go de RAM par machine. Sachant que plus vous aurez de RAM, plus vous pourrez modéliser des détails de petite taille dans vos géométries.
  • Au minimum 1 To d’espace disque pour stocker les données que vous produirez lors de l’utilisation. 8 Go d’espace disque libre pour l’installation du logiciel et de ses dépendances.
  • GTX 1650 ou supérieure.

Contact


Une question à propos d’ACE of Aircraft ? Contactez-nous à l’aide de ce formulaire.

    Nos domaines d'expertise

    Automobile

    Issue de la compétition automobile et située sur la technopole du circuit de Magny Cours, l’équipe d’Aero Concept Engineering possède une grande culture de l’automobile. Du sport automobile à l’automobile de série, en passant par les véhicules d’exception, ACE a apporté son savoir-faire à de nombreux projets automobiles.

    Aéronautique

    Depuis de nombreuses années nos ingénieurs œuvrent sur des projets aéronautiques. Avions certifiés, ULM, drones ou encore dirigeables sont étudiés en CFD ou en soufflerie.

    Poids lourds

    Les poids lourds ou engins de chantier ou agricoles étant soumis à des problématiques d’aérodynamique et de thermique assez proches de celles de l’automobile, nos équipes sont régulièrement sollicitées pour travailler dans ces domaines.

    Ferroviaire

    Pantographe, porte palière, porte de voiture, entrée de train en tunnel, croisement, climatisation sont quelques exemples des thématiques ferroviaires que nous avons été appelés à traiter.

    Bâtiment

    Vous êtes en charge de la construction d’un nouveau quartier ou d’un nouveau bâtiment ? Vous souhaitez vous assurer que les problématiques aérauliques et thermiques seront traitées avant la construction ?

    Défense

    Qu’ils soient terrestres ou volants, blindés ou non, profitez de notre expertise pour optimiser vos véhicules militaires sur les aspects thermique et aérodynamique.

    Sport & Records

    Entrez dans le monde de la performance ultime via notre entité dédiée au sport aeroptimum.fr. Nos aérodynamiciens vous permettront de tirer le meilleur de votre machine avec à la clef des records, des médailles et des victoires !

    Recherche

    Le secteur de la recherche fait partie de nos activités depuis de nombreuses années. Nous avons, par les essais en soufflerie, la conception de maquettes ou la CFD, collaboré à de multiples sujets de thèses.

    Industrie

    Votre process ou votre produit industriel met en jeu de la thermique, de l’aéraulique ou de la mécanique des fluides ? Vous souhaitez être accompagné dans leur développement et leur optimisation ?